Hooking for Good – Blanket Statement

*Hi, Jenny Brown has moved to hijennybrown.com.  Please come on over to read this post and see our new content!*

Oh my goodness! I don’t know whether to jump for joy or fall into a puddle of tears…but this is the last donation for this season’s “Hooking for Good.”

Hi, Jenny Brown - crochet ripple blanket for Binky Patrol

I should admit I’m a little addicted to ripple patterns.  I snuggle every night under a ripple my mom made me long ago, and it’s my fall-back when I need to crochet a blanket fast (or in the case of this thin-worsted, very slowly).  It’s not just that zig-zag pattern or the fun math that makes each row rise and fall. I think it’s also the word “ripple”: not only fun to say, but  a wonderful idea of making a small action that can result in far-reaching waves. You know, like donating something you made for some who needs it.

Crochet Ripple Blanket for Binky Patrol - Hi, Jenny Brown

This blanket is going to Binky Patrol – an organization that distributes blankets to children “born HIV+, drug-addicted, infected with AIDS or other chronic & terminal illnesses, those who are abused, in foster care or experiencing trauma of any kind.”  For those who aren’t crafters, they offer an easy no-sew blanket tutorial on their home page. I also love their idea of getting a group of friends together to help each other make blankets.  If you live near Northern New Jersey or NYC and want to do this, please comment and we will make it happen!

If you’d like to crochet or knit a blanket for another organization, you can find a great list of charities that will distribute them in this post by Starting Chain or this one by Crochet Concupiscence.

Hi, Jenny Brown - crochet ripple blanket for Binky Patrol

I should also say sorry to Mr. A and the Babes.  Both of them really bonded with this blanket, and I loved that they would snuggle under it as I worked each row.  They’ve both been very understanding about the fact that I’ve been donating almost everything I’ve made in the past few months, but they weren’t excited about letting this one go.  Both asked for me to give him the blanket, but A specifically asked that I make another with the same yarn (Heartland by Lion Brand, if you also have a yarn-snob 5-year-old at home & are allergic to wool). Maybe this thing isn’t over after all.

Bye,
Jenny Brown

2 thoughts on “Hooking for Good – Blanket Statement

Comments are closed.