‘Burgh it Up

*Hi, Jenny Brown has moved to hijennybrown.com. Please come on over to read this post and see our new content!*

I’ve been having a heck of a time lately (can anyone say “heck of a time” and not sound like a grandpa?) finding yarn for a specific project.  Since I have a wool sensitivity (imagine eyes swollen shut and super attractive rashes), a whole category of beautifully dyed yarn is off the table.  In fact, all animal fiber yarns are out, so I spend a lot of time wishing, praying, hoping for the perfect yarn and settling on some random acrylic out of desperation.  So annoying when you’re trying to pick a scheme for new patterns.

Well, when the going gets tough, I go to Pittsburgh.  And, spoiler alert, I didn’t find what I was looking for…but I did find a lot of goodness.

First, Craft Husband and I went to this super cool store called Construction Junction.

IMG_20140311_115129

Every corner was packed with building materials of every type and age and color.  There was something really beautiful about the piles of history so lovingly arranged.  I don’t own a house, but plenty of things were really pulling me, like these bulb covering globes.

IMG_20140311_115236

And there were art pieces composed of recycled materials tucked into corners and eaves throughout the store.

IMG_20140311_115753

Did I say “tucked?” I meant, looming.

IMG_20140311_114659

Next door was the amazeballs Pittsburgh Center for Creative Reuse.  Wowza.

IMG_20140311_115956

It was kind of like walking into a larger version of my current craft room – every little vintage possibility and reusable treasure was there ready for an amazing project.

IMG_20140311_120516

I took this pic so I could walk away without buying one.  No, I do not have a use for this. Maybe an early birthday present for E?

IMG_20140311_120544

Bag O Mat killed me.

IMG_20140311_120815

As did the collection of paper.  I will be back for you all soon, little paper bits.

IMG_20140311_121001

There were plenty of project ideas (some more practical than others).

IMG_20140311_121257

And yarning supplies (Can you believe I didn’t buy all the crochet hooks?  Craft Husband said that must mean I have enough already.  Ha!).

Prices were amazingly reasonable, and if you’re in the area, I definitely recommend it.

CH and I had worked up quite an appetite trying to spend money, so we headed for lunch at the Burgatory.  They have an amazing veggie burger, but I got the special of the day: a super delicious fried eggplant sandwich.  I washed it down with a beer that I imagine was named after me – Helltown Mischievous Brown.

beer

I think it did make me feel mischievous, because then we decided to get milkshakes.  What a great/bad idea.  I had a fluffer nutter butter – Marshmallow Fluff, you are my spirit animal.

IMG_20140311_145334

It was a great, inspiring day – not what I hoped to achieve, but definitely what I needed.  But don’t think I’m losing my passion: I still bought a few balls of yarn.

IMG_20140311_155228

Here’s to wishing you a happy hooky day soon!

Bye,
Jenny Brown

4 thoughts on “‘Burgh it Up

Comments are closed.